Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Forum (APEC)

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a regional forum established in November 1989. It is based on the principle of consensus, institutional flexibility and open dialogue. APEC Forum is aimed to create greater prosperity for the people of the region by promoting balanced, inclusive, sustainable, innovative and secure growth and by accelerating regional economic integration.

APEC's 21 member economies are Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; The Philippines; The Russian Federation; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; United States of America; Viet Nam.

The word “economies” is used to describe APEC members because the APEC cooperative process is predominantly concerned with trade and economic issues, with members engaging with one another as economic entities. Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong, China participate as independent members.

Russia has been the member of APEC forum since 1998.

The Federal Service for Intellectual Property is the Russian federal executive authority responsible for cooperation within the APEC Intellectual Property Rights Experts’ Group (IPEG)


IPEG was established in 1996 under the Committee on Trade and Investment. It is aimed to ensure the adequate and effective protection of intellectual property rights in the Asia-Pacific region based on the principles of the World Trade Organization's Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (the TRIPS Agreement).

IPEG meets two times every year in the margins of Senior Official Meetings (SOM) and reports to the Committee of Trade and Investment.





   News of International Cooperation

Last page update:

All updates

Font size